USA NPN National Phenology Network

Taking the Pulse of Our Planet

You are here

Phenology Week 2023

USA-NPN 15 year anniversary logo

March 20-24, 2023 was Phenology Week - a virtual celebration of the seasonal cycles of plants and animals! The purpose of Phenology Week is to celebrate YOU, our Nature's Notebook observers, Local Phenology Programs, and partners! We had webinars, awards, daily challenges, observer stories, and more! View daily emails and webinar recordings below! 

 

Schedule of Events:

Monday, March 20th


Daily email


15 years of Nature's Notebook virtual celebration: 10am PDT / 11am MDT / 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT
Ring in the Spring Equinox with us and celebrate 15 years of Nature's Notebook with USA-NPN staff and fellow Nature's Notebook observers! We'll look back at the history of the USA-NPN and how the data that you collect has been used in over 120 research publications and for natural resource management. We'll also give a preview of the other activities that are part of Phenology Week. 
Watch the recording


Tuesday, March 21st

Daily email

Researcher Q&A webinar:  10am PDT / 11am MDT / 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT
We'll be joined by Dr. Lin Meng from Vanderbilt University, Dr. Kerissa Battle from the Community Greenways Collaborative and New York Phenology Project, and Abbie Anderson from Pesky Plant Trackers who will share how they have used your data in research and decision making! Bring your questions about how your data are used, and why your data are so important! 
Watch the recording

Phenology, Plants, and Paints at Krutch Garden: 4-6pm AZ 
Tucson-area Local Phenology Programs and observers are invited to join us for an in-person event at the Joseph Wood Krutch Garden on the University of Arizona campus. Get a chance to meet USA-NPN staff, connect with fellow observers and Local Phenology Leaders, and create some plant watercolor paintings.


Wednesday, March 22nd


Daily email


USA-NPN Director Theresa Crimmins' Plantside Chat
Hear from our Director Dr. Theresa Crimmins about the recent research that has used your data!
Watch the video


Thursday, March 23rd


Daily email

2022 USA-NPN Annual Resport

2022 PhenoChampion: Washington Square Park Eco Projects

2022 Local Phenology Program Annual Survey results 


Friday, March 24th


Daily email


Gratitude Party virtual celebration:  10am PDT / 11am MDT / 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT
Close out Phenology Week with a celebration of you and your fellow Nature's Notebook observers! We'll share special awards for long-time observers, observers who have collected incredible amounts of data, Local Phenology Programs, and those who have participated in special data collection campaigns.  We'll also give a live demo on the new USA-NPN website!

Watch the recording

Date: 
03/20/2023